Great Britain

The Lake District is now UK’s Newest World Heritage Site

The Lake District is now officially a World Heritage(link is external) Site putting it alongside iconic Taj Mahal, the Great Barrier Reef and the Grand Canyon as a site of global, cultural and historical significance.

Not only is it the only UK National Park that is entirely a World Heritage Site, but it’s also the UK’s largest World Heritage Site at an immense 229,200 hectares and Cumbria is now home to TWO UNESCO World Heritage Sites. In the north of the country, Hadrian’s Wall forms the Frontiers of the Roman Empire site so there has never been a better time to explore Cumbria and immerse yourself in two of the most unique and inspiring regions you’re likely to find anywhere on the planet.

The Lake District World Heritage Site is:

1. One of just over 1000 World Heritage sites (1052)

2. The UK’s largest World Heritage site: 229,200 ha (1951 boundary)

3. The UK’s 31st UNESCO World Heritage site

4. The only UK National Park that will be entirely a World Heritage site

5. The UK’s 5th cultural landscape World Heritage Site, joining:
Blaenavon Industrial Landscape
Cornwall and West Devon Mining Landscape
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew
St Kilda

6. Cumbria’s second World Heritage Site together with Hadrian’s Wall

7. One of eight World Heritage Sites looked after by the National Trust

8. One of 15 National Parks. The others are: Brecon Beacons, the Cairngorms, Dartmoor, Exmoor, Loch Lomond and Trossachs, Northumberland, North York Moors, Peak District, Pembrokeshire Coast, Snowdonia, the Yorkshire Dales, the Broads, the New Forest and the South Downs.